In the 17th Century before the Great Fire of London, there were around 100 churches within the 'Square Mile' or the 'City' as it's known now. Many were destroyed in the fire, but were rebuilt again. As the population grew and the area of London expanded, more churches were built to accommodate the people and many of them were under the Church of England. Over the years, a range of denominations exist including Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, and Greek Orthodox.